Close Enough

You’re never close enough
Even when we kiss
When we’re pressed so close
That there are no spaces between our bodies
You’re not close enough.
Even when you are deep within me
Even when you are whispering
“I love you”
Into my ear
You’re not close enough.
When we share breath
A bed, the rug in our secret place
When you bite my skin and I yours
You’re not close enough.
My craving is only satisfied,
You’re only close enough
When our very souls intertwine
When there are no bodies,
No earthly beings between us.
When I feel us blend together
In a melody of emotions and memories
That are shared between us
Before we part again
Only then
Are you close enough.

Leave a Reply

